The Paladin

The Paladin - By: Arith Härger

The Paladin – By: Arith Härger

“The Paladin” – Black pen 005 and 01 on A4 paper – 2014

This was one of my favorite silhouette-works on paper. I really enjoyed doing this one and giving this medieval-mythological atmosphere to it. As you might imagine, it isn’t hard to to a work like this; you just have to make the first sketch and then go around the lines with your pen, filling the figures with ink. Add a few elements of movement, like leaves and birds, to give that sensation that the figures are not frozen in time. Add movement to the figures themselves, create a little background story and voilà! – you have a drawing.

 

I enjoyed the feedback I had after submitting this work. People seemed to be a little puzzled about the fact that I named the work “The paladin”. What figure in the drawing was this paladin? Well, I had a lot of answers to that, some very funny. Of course I know which of these characters is the paladin, but I let you decide for yourself.

I hope you enjoyed the work as much as I did while creating it.

If you want to see more of my works, please visit my facebook page at: [Link]

Leave a Reply

