Reading Runes – The World Tree Method

The World Tree

The world-tree arrangement is another complex rune divination that comprises eleven randomly chosen runes. It is an elaboration on the square-of-nine method, with the addition of two extra runes to provide links between the three levels ( although the order of runes is different ).

This pathern makes up three levels: the lowest, called Utgard, refers to the past; the middle, called Midgard, refers to the day-to-day life; and the upper, called Asgard, relates to spiritual life and the future. This is a particularly useful type of reading for questions of a spiritual nature.
The arrangement looks like a central axis comprising five runes, with three runes on either side of it. The first position is at the base of the vertical axis.

For those of you who can’t properly read the design in the image, these are the themes of each position:

Position 1 – Past events or the basis of a spiritual journey.
Position 2 – That which is unknown concerning the past.
Position 3 – That which is known concerning the past.
Postion 4 – The link to the present.

Position 5 – Present circumstances.
Position 6 – Unconscious decisions.
Position 7 – Conscious decisions.
Position 8 – The link to the future.

Position 9 – The future and spiritual evolution.
Position 10 – The unknown.
Position 11 – Expectations.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s