Ataegina

Ataegina By: Arith Härger

Ataegina By: Arith Härger  

Ataegina – Acrylic and watercolour on Canson Medium Texture paper 21×28,3

Ataegina is one of the pagan goddesses worshiped in ancient Lusitania, todays Portugal and some parts of Spain. She is one of the most            famous deities of the Celtic people in the Iberian Peninsula, the goddess of spring, nature, night and magic, also closely associated with                the  cult of the moon. There were some hills and mountainous places where she was honored and worshiped as the protective deity of                    those  places.

 

My dear friends I wanted to share this work I have made some time ago, because I believe that each country should never forget their roots, especially Europeans and their decendents because we have such rich cultures and with time those are beginning to fade away. Knowing our roots is a better way to know ourselves and our ancestors, a great way to build our paths towards the future.

I don’t know if you are aware but the Lusitanians ( probably had another name, this was the name given to them by the Romans ) were a tribe of Celts most powerful in the Iberian Peninsula, the first European peoples to form a Nation, and you know how Celts were when it comes to their deities, they had thousands of them, because they were so much divided all over Europe, that each tribe had a deity apart from all the other major deities, and each place had also a deity, so this wasn’t different with the Lusitanians, they also had many gods and goddesses, some belonged to the trivial Celtic pantheon such as Epona, Nemetona, Nantosuelta or even Sucellos, but the Lusitanians also had deities from the places of their lands, and the rivers and springs, the mountains and etc. Ataegina was one of the Lusitanian goddesses most famous and very important in the Lusitanian culture and I wanted to create an image of her acording to a spiritual journey I had. I wanted to show her the way she appeared in my journey, and place her in a background that could summarize her powers, as a goddess of Spring, nature, night and magic.

Most Portuguese people from northern Portugal and in that same direction in northern spain, Galicia, have Celtic origins, decend from those people, but also from Germanic tribes that came later such as the Wandalns ( Vandals ) and the Swabians and even the Vikings and other Norse peoples, across the Northern coasts, but one of the peoples that left the biggest mark in Portugal, were the Lusitanians, this tribe of Celts begane the very history of Portugal, and became a national symbol, it is with them that Portugal was born, and they lived in the Northern and central areas of Portugal, so with this drawing, I wanted to show the Portuguese people a bit of their roots, it is important to never forget them… I hope some day the Portugues people wake up and embrace their Celtic and Germanic roots, I hope they remember me some day and see what I have tried to do, I’m not the only one, but I like to think that in some way, I have contributed to revive the old roots.

 

Thank you so much friends for reading this post and sorry for the History lesson, believe me… I have plenty to talk about this subject but   I my objective was to talk about the artistic work. If you want to see more of my artistic works just visit my facebook page at –>   https://www.facebook.com/ArithHarger  Hope you like my other works, stay well friends!

7 responses to “Ataegina

  1. Pingback: My Homepage·

  2. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thanks However I am experiencing subject with ur rss . Dont know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss downside? Anyone who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

  3. When I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get 4 emails with the identical comment. Is there any way you possibly can remove me from that service? Thanks!

  4. Hi 🙂 From a portuguese girl thanks for writing about this! I don’t find much information about the old costumes and i’m glad you shared our history. The paiting is beautiful 🙂 Like you said i also hope one day we can embrace our celtic and germanic roots and know more about our past!

Leave a Reply

